Tags

, , ,

I only started reading blogs fairly recently — before that, I had a really strange perception of them based on stereotypes. It wasn’t until I accidentally discovered a blog I loved that I realized that blogs are NOT just for the self-obsessed. They are a great way to share experiences, ideas, and recipes with others.

Here are a few of the blogs I like best:

The Frugal Girl : Kristen’s blog is about all things frugal: baking, shopping, green living, and simple day-to-day life, as well as some information on homeschooling. I particularly love her crafts and recipes.

The Homeschool Mom: This site is a great resource for all things homeschooling. There are great pdf files for school-related organization, curriculum planning, chores… everything! There are hundreds of links to different homeschooling resources. This site helped me to gain the confidence to plan my own curriculum for my son, who will start Pre-K or Kindergarten next year, depending on what he’s ready for.

Owl Haven: A great blog about a mother of 10 who manages her house and homeschools. Her adoption adventures are inspiring, as are her management skills!

Money Saving Mom: A great resource for those who want to live more frugally. I’m not into couponing, but for those who are… there are also recipes, organization tips, and budgeting guides. I personally love the downloadable daily chore chart!

The Non-Consumer Advocate: Another frugal living blog. Katy’s dedication to avoiding consumerism is amazing. I was particularly interested in The Compact, a challenge in which you strive to buy nothing new for an ENTIRE YEAR. Crazy, huh? It’s pretty amazing, and I don’t think I could do it.

By Prayer and Petition: Another homeschooling mom’s blog, which I love. This particular mommy is great about bringing her faith into her day-to-day activities, which is something I’m still struggling with! Her posts are light-hearted, funny, and full of great content. A recent post, In the Holy Presence of God, helped me to remember that Christ is with us at all times, not just when we’re thinking about Him. It was a reminder to live as He would want me to live at all times, even during mundane household tasks.

I’m sure there are other blogs worth mentioning, but I can’t think of anything else at the moment. I’ll add more as I think of them!

Amanda

