Tags

, , , , ,

(‘scuse the low picture quality. I’m using my phone for pictures… and let’s just say it doesn’t take iPhone-quality pictures.)

I meant to have something more meaty for today, but I’ll have to settle for another tasty recipe.

The other day I made bread, yogurt, croutons, lebneh, and these muffins all in the same day. Then we spent 2 days in Vegas running a bunch of errands and spending ungodly amounts of time at the DMV. Needless to say, I’m tired.

I’m just glad Rachael has started sleeping through the night in the past month or so. With all 3 of my babies, as soon as they were weaned they started sleeping through the night. I like sleep, so this works out really well for me.

Without further ado, here’s a pumpkin muffin recipe adapted from the Libby’s recipe.

Pumpkin Muffins (makes 18 muffins)

1 ½ cups white flour

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon cinnamon (we really like cinnamon, use less if you prefer)

1 teaspoon nutmeg

½ teaspoon cloves (more or less if you like)

2 teaspoons baking soda

½ tablespoon salt

2 cups sugar

15 oz canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie mix!)

4 eggs

¼ c oil or melted butter

¼ cup water

¼ – ½ cup plain yogurt or applesauce*

¾ cup chocolate chips

*Note: if you use applesauce as part of your liquids, you can reduce the amount of added sugar. I haven’t tried it yet, but I would assume 1 or 1 ½ cups sugar would be plenty with the applesauce.

Directions:

  1. Combine flours, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, combine sugar, pumpkin, eggs, oil, water, and yogurt/applesauce. Mix well.
  3. Add flour mixture to liquids all at once. Stir gently just until combined. I recently learned that using a whisk makes it easier to incorporate flour without over-mixing.
  4. Spoon into greased muffin pans.
  5. Sprinkle a few chocolate chips on top of each muffin. This makes them prettier, tastier, and makes your whole house smell good while they bake!
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees. (I had to bake them a little bit longer, possibly because of the chocolate chips.)
  7. When muffins are firm to the touch and lightly browned, they are done. Let them rest in the pan for a few minutes before popping them out. I like to remove the muffins, then put them back in the pan sideways to let them cool completely before storing them.
  8. Store in an airtight container.

These muffins are awesome and all of the kids really like them. I like them too, but I don’t really count because I’ll happily eat anything with pumpkin or sweet potatoes in it. I’m thinking about trying this recipe with mashed sweet potato instead of pumpkin.

In other news, my twin sisters are graduating from the 8th grade tomorrow! I’m thinking about making that swirled coffee cake and taking it with me to give to them. In light of upcoming events, there may or may not be a post up here tomorrow.

