I’m a mom, a full-time student, homeschooling enthusiast, and I throw in a few hours a week as a clerk at my dad’s law firm. Needless to say, I’m a busy girl.

The biggest struggle is usually finding time to balance the kids, housework, and the mountain of schoolwork looming over me. The summer semester just started, and I’m taking 4 accelerated classes. I don’t usually go to school over the summer, but in the hope of getting my associate’s next spring, I can sacrifice my summer!

I know there are other moms in school out there, so I thought I’d share a few tips for juggling everything that needs to be done.

1. Get organized, make a schedule. I use Money Saving Mom’s household management charts. The charts help me to see at a glance what needs to happen each day. I also keep a gigantic whiteboard in my kitchen to manage to do lists, assignments, and events.

2. Don’t procrastinate! I know you’ve heard it over and over, but it’s especially important with kids. Small chunks of work done during naps and after bedtime is SO much easier than writing a 12-page paper the night before it’s due (been there, done that).

3. Library books. They’re a great way to keep young kids occupied for half an hour while I read a chapter of a textbook. My kids like to pretend that they’re doing schoolwork just like mama! Utilizing naptime is also VERY important.

4. Ask the kids for help. Samantha’s only 2, but she picks up laundry for me in the mornings. Dom is 3 1/2 and he puts away the silverware from the dishwasher.

5. Don’t try to do everything. Read Song for a Fifth Child. You don’t have to have a sparkling house to be a good mom. Right now, my kids are my first priority, schoolwork is second, and cleaning is third. I don’t vacuum every day when I’m taking classes. I don’t mop as often as I should (thank God for swiffer!). I keep the house clean, but not pristine.

and lastly,

6. Remember that this won’t last forever. School will end, then life will be a little simpler. There IS a light at the end of the tunnel!

