Tags

, , , ,

Most of the time, I pay a little extra at the grocery store to get cane sugar instead of beet sugar. I think the cane sugar tastes way better than beet sugar.

When I was buying huge amounts of sugar to make freezer jam, I was pleasantly surprised to see this:

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Wal-Mart brand sugar is cane sugar! This thrills me. I will now buy my generic sugar at Wal-Mart instead of Kroger/Food 4 Less. Unfortunately, the brown sugar was NOT labeled “cane sugar,” so I’m going to continue to assume that it is either white sugar dyed with molasses, or some sort of beet sugar. I believe I’ll stick with the name brand brown sugar for now.

In other news, the local 4-H club was giving away free, local, organic tomatoes last weekend. I got a whole grocery sack of fresh paste tomatoes for FREE. I’m a happy girl. I set them on the windowsill to ripen all week, then made some pizza sauce. Did you know that pizza sauce is remarkably easy to make from fresh tomatoes?

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Pizza Sauce

12-15 large fresh tomatoes

salt

Italian Seasoning

Garlic

First, you need to blanch the tomatoes. This is really easy to do. Boil some water and drop the tomatoes into the boiling water for one minute. Transfer them to an ice bath. The skin will loosen and become wrinkly, making it easy to pull off.

After skinning all the tomatoes, cut them in half horizontally. Scoop the seeds out with a spoon. A grapefruit spoon is really helpful for this part.

As you’re removing the seeds, put them into a strainer over a bowl. Save all the lovely juice dripping down into the bowl.

Chop the tomatoes into small pieces and put them in a pot with the reserved tomato juice. Add salt and italian seasoning to taste. Don’t add the garlic yet – garlic’s taste is stronger when it is cooked less. The longer you cook it, the fainter the garlic taste. I like my sauce VERY garlicky, so I add the garlic at the very end.

Simmer the tomatoes, juice, and spices for 1 1/2 – 2 hours. Cooking for a long time gets the wonderful flavors out of the spices. At the end of the cooking time, add garlic to taste. We use a LOT of garlic in our sauce.

Let the sauce cool, then give it a spin in the blender or food processor to smooth it up.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

A great way to store pizza sauce is to freeze it in ice cube trays, then store the cubes in a baggie in the freezer. Then you can grab as much or as little as you want when you’re making pizza. Sauce defrosts very quickly in the microwave.

Making pizza is super tasty and very easy. I use The Frugal Girl’s Overnight Pizza Dough, then the dough is ready to go whenever I am! Pretzel doughs also make for great pizza.

