Tags

,

FoodWasteFriday
Every week, Kristen at blogs about her food waste for the week. We used to throw away an awful lot of food, so I decided to take up the challenge! Hopefully blogging about my waste will motivate me to reduce it.

This week wasn’t too bad, but it wasn’t too great either. I lost a heart of romaine lettuce that I had bought 2 weeks ago. I guess we haven’t been eating enough salads this week! Lettuce usually isn’t a problem for us, so this was definitely strange.
We also lost a chicken thigh that I cooked on Monday or Tuesday. It was tough and dry, so I really didn’t WANT to eat it.. then it got to the point of being stinky and I COULDN’T eat it. Boo.

In other news, I’m going to plant some pumpkins on Sunday! I’ll need to buy mulch this year because my compost has only been going for 3 months 😦
I’m thinking about 6 plants will be plenty, then we can store the pumpkins to use them all winter.

